>>
Flash - Action | Adventure | Defense | Puzzle | Shooting | Skill | Strategy | Gadget
PC - Free to Play | Action | Adventure | Strategy | RPG | Indie | Massively Multiplayer | Casual | Family | Simulation | Racing
ahkong.net on Facebook

Detect, Remove Spyware, Adware, Malware, Trojan, Keylogger with Spyware Doctor – Download – Review

12 Apr 2008 | Useful |  31 comments
advertisements

Overview
Deimos is using Spyware Doctor to detect, remove any Spyware, Adware, Malware that sneaks into Deimos’s computer invited and would like to recommend others to use it too. This article is seeks to give a short review of the Starter Edition of Spyware Doctor, determine for yourself if Spyware Doctor is worth downloading and using but Deimos definitely finds Spyware Doctor to be useful.

Download it here


Spyware Doctor is part of Google Pack, a collection of useful softwares.

Select Spyware Doctor

Click the check box next to “Spyware Doctor” and then click “Install Software” to start downloading. The PC that Deimos used to capture this screenshot already has Spyware Doctor installed, so it shows up at the bottom “You already have this software:” instead.

Google Updater – Current Status

Once selected Spyware Doctor and clicked “Install Software” you will be asked to download and install the Google Pack software, follow the on screen instructions. The above screen is Google Updater’s “Current Status” which shows any software or updates that you are currently downloading, there is nothing above as the PC Deimos used to capture this screenshot is not downloading any softwares or updates.

Google Updater – Installed Software

Once finished downloading and installing, it will appear in the “Installed Software” section of the Google Updater. Click “Run” to launch Spyware Doctor.

Windows Start Button – All Programs

The installed program will appear in “All Programs” too so you can run it from there, or send it to Desktop as a shortcut. However, Spyware Doctors is defaulted to auto launch whenever Windows starts up so there is little need to launch it manually.

Title Menu screen of PC Tools’ Spyware Doctor

A simple and easy to interface, click:

Green Arrow – Start scanning right away [Intelligent scan, faster, scans important areas]
Red Arrow – Choose what type of scan [More info in the following image]
Yellow Arrow – Enable real time protection [Not enabled in the PC that this screenshot is taken as the PC is quite ancient and this feature uses quite a lot of system resources]

System Scan screen of PC Tools’ Spyware Doctor

Intelli-Scan is much faster than Full Scan. Deimos uses Intelli-Scan most of the time, he uses Full Scan sometimes. Spyware Doctor also automatically runs scans periodically.

Scanning in progress screen of PC Tools’ Spyware Doctor

Scanning in progress, can stop it, and it will proceed to the next screen.

Scan Results screen of PC Tools’ Spyware Doctor

Various information about the detected spywares, adwares, malwares, trojans, keyloggers etc is shown here. Just click Fix Checked (Red Arrow) to remove them all.

Scan Summary screen of PC Tools’ Spyware Doctor

The summary screen after the spywares, adwares, malwares, trojans, keyloggers etc have been purged from the system. Since this is the Starter Edition of PC Tools’ Spyware Doctor, there is an Upgrade (red colored fonts) button there. The Starter Edition is good enough for Deimos for now.

Deimos’s Daily Reads
No reads today.

Deimos’s Thoughts
Nowadays, it is extremely easy to get infected with spywares, adwares, malwares, trojans, keyloggers etc if one is not careful while browsing. Deimos has been using Spyware Doctor for quite some time and he is quite satisfied with it so far.

Deimos Asks
Just some simple questions …
1. Have you heard of Google Pack and Spyware Doctor before?
2. What Spyware detection and removal software are you currently using?


31 Comments

  1. 12th April 2008 
    1:04 pm         

    BaseGuardian
    said the following:

    1. Have you heard of Google Pack and Spyware Doctor before?
    Yes.
    2. What Spyware detection and removal software are you currently using?
    I’m using SUPERAntiSpyware, but with PC Tools Firewall

  2. 12th April 2008 
    9:40 pm         

    Wongsk
    said the following:

    Just came across your weblog and knowing have spyware doctor review.
    I am also using spyware doctor 5.5 but a bit high of memory consumption.
    I also have spyware doctor contest to give 5 product key giveaway in my weblog.

  3. 13th April 2008 
    2:38 am         

    Uncle Che
    said the following:

    This review caught my attention because i have used Spyware Doctor. It saved me lots of trouble in the past. When I first used it, it cleaned my system up so much that till now, i have never had any spyware infection. Not even one. I will highly recomend this software to anyone being molested by spyware. Spyware doctor is a big punch in the face of the spyware kingdom.
    Cheers.

  4. 13th April 2008 
    4:42 am         

    Melo
    said the following:

    I remember using Spyware Doctor before but can’t remember if it’s good or not. I might give it another spin.

  5. 13th April 2008 
    8:40 am         

    kljs
    said the following:

    I tried it, but somehow there was some conflict with Symantec Endpoint Protection……..which also have anti-spyware capabilities… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. 13th April 2008 
    12:13 pm         

    Apple
    said the following:

    1. Have you heard of Google Pack and Spyware Doctor before?
    Yes

    2. What Spyware detection and removal software are you currently using?
    Currently not really have any great anti spyware tools. Have Spybot S&D installed.

    I ever tried Spyware Doctor before, but seems to slow down my system a little due to comp spec. Might give it a try again. :mrgreen:

  7. 13th April 2008 
    6:07 pm         

    Cromely
    said the following:

    I may have to give that a try. Does it play nicely with AdAware and Spybot S&D? Or would I need to uninstall them?

  8. 13th April 2008 
    7:27 pm         

    Uncle Che
    said the following:

    Replying to Kljs: You are absolutely right with that. Symantec Endpoint conflicts with all antivirus, antispyware and firewall software. It always wants to be default and in control UNLESS you know how to play with some of the options. Don’t be surprised you get up one day and can’t even connect to the internet…ha ha ha. I mean it!!!

  9. 13th April 2008 
    9:04 pm         

    kljs
    said the following:

    So far, my main antivirus and spyware are Symantec Endpoint Protection, so there isn’t a problem with it’s “I am to be the boss” attitude…

  10. 13th April 2008 
    10:09 pm         

    Roel
    said the following:

    Thanks Dude. Never heard of any Google Pack before. Must try this one out. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  11. 14th April 2008 
    2:40 am         

    curryegg
    said the following:

    Thank for sharing this ahkong… Btw, I’m using Pc Tools and it works well.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. 14th April 2008 
    5:38 pm         

    Deimos Tel`Arin
    said the following:

    @BaseGuardian:
    So how do you find SUPERAntiSpyware to be? Good? ๐Ÿ’ก
    Never tried out Spyware Doctor before har? ๐Ÿ™„

    =======================================================

    @Wongsk:
    Mine is version 5.5.0.204 ๐Ÿ˜ฏ
    Spyware Doctor does seems to consume a bit more memory. โžก
    Much, much more when performing scans. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    =======================================================

    @Uncle Che:
    Thanks for the support! ๐Ÿ™‚

    =======================================================

    @Melo:
    It works for me. :mrgreen:

    =======================================================

    @kljs:
    Symantec supporter hah? ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    =======================================================

    @Apple:
    I used to use Spybot Search & Destroy too. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Methinks Spyware Doctor has rather steep system requirements. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
    What are your specs? ๐Ÿ’ก
    Disable OnGuard Protection to lessen the memory consumption. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    =======================================================

    @Cromely:
    Not sure about that, give it a try and let me know. ๐Ÿ˜›

    =======================================================

    @Uncle Che:
    Symantec can’t be that bad, right? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    =======================================================

    @kljs:
    So Symantec ain’t trying to monopoly the anti virus spyware market ya? ๐Ÿ˜

    =======================================================

    @Roel:
    Let me know how it works out for you. :mrgreen:

    =======================================================

    @curryegg:
    You are using PC Tools’s Spyware Doctor? ๐Ÿ˜•

    =======================================================

  13. 14th April 2008 
    7:48 pm         

    Louise
    said the following:

    Nope, never heard of it, might try it out actually!

    Currently using Adware and SuperAntiSpyware, they’re not too bad…

  14. 16th April 2008 
    12:51 am         

    curryegg
    said the following:

    ya.. I mean I use both PC Tool – Spyware doctor and Anti virus.. The PC Tool Anti Virus did help me in cleaning the mozila fox viruses before. My Mozila fox page was being blocked!

    and ah kong.. you’re sick right now? It’s better not to sit in front of the computer if you’re sick. Take a good rest first, ok?

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. 16th April 2008 
    10:25 am         

    Deimos Tel`Arin
    said the following:

    @Louise:
    Remember to download from my referral link when you do give it a try yo! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    =========================================================

    @curryegg:
    Actually, I take a good rest by spending time in front of the computer. ๐Ÿ™‚

    =========================================================

  16. 16th April 2008 
    12:20 pm         

    Sagar Patel
    said the following:

    I am using the same thing. But your PC is very slow man..
    It takes less than 1 min. for intelli-scan in my PC.
    And yes, Avast Antivirus (Home Edition) and Spyware doctor installed on PC will provide excellent security against all threats, at absolutely free of cost!

  17. 16th April 2008 
    12:53 pm         

    Deimos Tel`Arin
    said the following:

    @Sagar Patel:
    I captured those screenies on an ancient rig, what to do? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Same here, I am using both Avast Antivirus (Home Edition) plus Spyware Doctor. :mrgreen:

  18. 17th April 2008 
    12:02 pm         

    Shanker Bakshi
    said the following:

    Am using it -Its a good software but only when you have full licensed version. The one which comes free with google pack kills viruses but with limitations.

  19. 17th April 2008 
    1:37 pm         

    Deimos Tel`Arin
    said the following:

    @Shanker Bakshi:
    What kind of limitations? I am using the Start Edition fine here. ๐Ÿ˜›

  20. 17th April 2008 
    2:36 pm         

    RATNADEEP
    said the following:

    I’ve used it.But you need to register.
    For that reason I’m using Advanced Windows Care V2(iobit.com) ,It’s free of cost & works better than Spyware Doctor.Also advanced features like junk cleaner,spyware remover,registry fix are available with this free version.
    So why use Spyware Doctor?
    (only 3.5 mb disk space required for IObit).

  21. 17th April 2008 
    2:46 pm         

    Deimos Tel`Arin
    said the following:

    @RATNADEEP:
    I am using Spyware Doctor Starter Edition and I don’t need to register anything! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    Well, I use Spyware Doctor because I am lazy to try the otehrs. ๐Ÿ˜›

  22. 22nd April 2008 
    9:35 pm         

    Daryl W.T. Lau
    said the following:

    Thanks for the sharing AhKong… I am currently using both Lavasoft Ad-Aware and Spybot since alone they are not comprehensive enough. Will give this a try for sure.

    Cheers!

  23. 10th May 2008 
    9:04 pm         

    Jena Isle
    said the following:

    Very detailed explanation, a good and significant read for all. Thanks for posting.

  24. 13th May 2008 
    10:40 pm         

    Isles Tech
    said the following:

    Can you change your Entrecard URL to the first page of your blog? I mean, not all of us are just here for the drops, you know. Entrecard had been my way of keeping up with what other bloggers are writing about, and I’m always sent to this page. ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. 16th May 2008 
    2:58 am         

    usws
    said the following:

    I used to use spyware doctor (and it seemed to have done the job) but i couldn’t update it cause it wasn’t free. So, is it like free now? Cause if it is, i hope the rest of PC Tools software are free to use as well ie. registry mechanic.

    I currently have on my computer AVG’s spyware thingy (kinda dislike it for its size.. i think) and ZoneAlarm which has it built in as well. Scanning wise, don’t care to do it anymore.. malas!

    BYE!

  26. 16th May 2008 
    11:25 am         

    Deimos Tel`Arin
    said the following:

    @Daryl W.T. Lau:
    I used to use Lavasoft Ad-Aware and Spybot too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    =====================================================================

    @Jena Isle:
    Thanks for the feedback yo! :mrgreen:

    =====================================================================

    @Isle Tech:
    Unable to comply with your request, sorry about that. ๐Ÿ˜

    =====================================================================

    @usws:
    If you download it via Google Pack, the updates are free. ๐Ÿ˜€

    =====================================================================

  27. 3rd October 2008 
    8:14 pm         

    Spyware Doctor
    said the following:

    You can download PC Tools Security Software-Download security software โ€“ Free for the first 12 months -Spyware Doctor with AntiVirusโ„ข (Free for the first 12 months) -Privacy Guardian (Free for the first 12 months) -PC Tools Firewall Plusโ„ข 3.0 for Windowsยฎ (Free for the first 12 months) More info, go to http://www.azspywaredoctor.com/ or http://www.pctools.com/wbc/

  28. 6th October 2010 
    1:48 pm         

    Nathan Lee
    said the following:

    for me, malwarebytes is the best spyware and malware remover that i have used,*;

  29. 21st October 2010 
    12:32 am         

    Anxiety Symptoms 
    said the following:

    spyware removers like avast, avg and kaspersky are great!, they can really kill those pesky malwares”,.

  30. 10th November 2010 
    1:53 am         

    Acne Medications Information ยท
    said the following:

    Malwarebytes is a very good spyware remover that i use, it can really detect and remove those annoying malware ”

  31. 25th December 2010 
    3:05 am         

    C. T. Gunn
    said the following:

    I’ve tried Spyware Doctor before, but I wasn’t overly impressed with it. Software that I’ve grown fond of recently are some of the products created by ParetoLogic Inc. I included a link to a list of their products as my website. Some of the ones worth checking out for adware, malware, spyware, and viruses are PC Health Advisor, Anti-Virus PLUS, Anti-Spyware, and XoftSpySE Anti-Spyware.

Please do not spam. Thank you.

Comments will not be published if they contain either "http://" or "www." in them.